Archive: Term of service 05 October 2010–02 October 2014

Fredrik Reinfeldt to receive this year's Nobel Peace Prize laureates

On Monday 12 December, Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt will receive this year's Nobel Peace Prize laureates: Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee from Liberia and Tawakkol Karman from Jemen. Mr Reinfeldt will receive the laureates for a working lunch, but will also take the opportunity to show off a Swedish Christmas tradition: the Lucia procession.

Time and place

Programme points:

11.40 Prime Minister receives Peace Prize winners.
Rosenbad lobby.
Photo opportunity.

Lucia procession by pupils from Adolf Fredrik Music School.
Rosenbad lobby.
Group photo with the pupils.

12.00-13.00 Lunch and discussions.
Guest dining rooms, Rosenbad.

13.20 Joint press conference.
Rosenbad Press Centre.
Language: English.

Mr Reinfeldt will speak to the three Peace Prize winners about the importance of women in reconciliation and peace-building following armed conflicts, and also about how the influence of women in society can be increased by getting more women into leading positions in politics and the business sector.

During their visit to Sweden, the Peace Prize laureates will also meet other representatives of Swedish society.

Mr Reinfeldt has previously received Peace Prize laureates in Stockholm, following their reception of the prize in Oslo. This occurred in 2007, with the UN chief negotiator on the future status of Kosovo, Martti Ahtisaari, and again in 2008, with Al Gore, former Vice President of the United States, and Dr Rajendra K. Pachauri, Chair of the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Representatives of the media who wish to be present at the initial photo opportunity and the Lucia procession should present themselves for admittance by 11.20 at the latest. Please use the Kopparporten entrance. Please bring your press credentials.

We look forward to welcoming you.


Sebastian Carlsson
work +46 8 405 10 00
Markus Friberg
Press Secretary to Fredrik Reinfeldt
work +46 8 405 10 00
Questions about the other programme points of the Peace Prize winners in Sweden should be addressed to:
Jan Janonius
Desk Officer, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
+46 70 847 89 58